One of the most fascinating and charming communities in all of Baltimore County, historic Rockland Village sits quietly tucked along the Falls Road Corridor. Within this old mill community sits the “Taylor House”, an absolutely incredible property with a storied history dating back to the founding of Maryland. Built in telescope starting in 1698 and patented “Taylor’s Hall” in 1703, 10136 Falls Road was first constructed by Joseph Taylor, one of Maryland’s wealthiest tobacco farmers. Still recognized to this day throughout the state, Taylor was lured to the colonies by tales of Pocahontas who died in his home town of Gravesend, England just months before his birth. Taylor crossed the Atlantic on a voyage funded by George Calvert, the first Lord Baltimore. He was later granted land amounting to nearly all of current day Baltimore County by the second Lord Baltimore, Cecil Calvert.
The property later passed into the hands of the Cockey family (namesakes of Cockeysville) in 1727. Additions were made to the home by Thomas Cockey and his son, Captain Thomas Cockey Deye, the first speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates and member of the committee responsible for drafting Maryland’s Constitution. It remained in their possession until the mid-1800s when it was purchased by an Irish family, the Padians.
Moved from its original location in Texas, Maryland to its current locale, Taylor House was meticulously reconstructed in its entirety by builder Martin Azola and architect L.J. Link, Jr in 1986. A few more additions were made and entirely new plumbing, heating, electrical and air conditioning systems were installed. Beautifully cared for and maintained, this unique home offers incredible character as well as luxury.
Step back in time from the covered porch into the circa 1795 stone addition Foyer boasting a 3-story staircase and the adjacent Living Room with Fireplace, built-in arched bookcases and French doors to the back Porch. Also accessible from the Foyer, the adjoining Dining Room, built circa 1727, enjoys a fireplace, amazing concealed back staircase to the 2nd floor with vintage treads and a log wall, and access to the adjoining Den. Built around 1698, the Den was part of the original structure and features an exposed rafter ceiling, log wall, deep set windows, an oversized Keeping Room fireplace, and a partially concealed staircase including an under-stair Priest Hide cubby. Double doors lead from this unique space into the Family Room, added in 1986. A partially vaulted ceiling, fireplace and wall of custom built-in cabinetry continues the classic feel of the home. An enormous wall of windows as well as French doors leading to the Deck provide abundant natural light into this lovely room.
Adjacent sits the eat-in Kitchen, designed by renowned interior designer Trish Houck, with beautiful custom cabinetry, large picture window and door to the two-tiered Deck beyond. A Laundry Room, Gallery Hall, and attached two-car Garage complete the main level. The Second Floor features a modern Master Bedroom Suite with a vestibule entry and walk-in closet, vaulted ceiling, fireplace and Master Bath. Three additional, spacious Bedrooms and two Baths can be found on this level with a fifth Bedroom on the floor above. The Lower Level features a Recreation Room as well as an Exercise Room.
Situated on an acre of professionally landscaped grounds, Taylor Hall boasts a covered Back Porch as well as a Deck with steps leading to the Patio and lawn. Beautiful stone walls accent the lush garden and old growth trees surrounding the property. Located in an extremely convenient locale, part of the National Register of Historic Districts, Baltimore County Landmarks List, and recognized by the Maryland Historic Trust, this lovingly reconstructed and meticulously maintained tricentenarian home is a rare piece of Maryland history.
Total Sq. Footage
Stone, Log, Siding - Cedar
Shingle - Asphalt, Cedar / Shake, Metal
Above Grade, Below Grade
Central Air Conditioning, Zoned
Natural Gas, Electric
Forced Air, Zoned
Full, Improved, Partially Finished